First 26.2 Miler Countdown: 6, 5, 4 & 3 (Getting back up)

The marathon week is finally here! My thoughts?

  1. I am definitely under-trained.
  2. I am nowhere near my peak fitness.
  3. My maximum distance so far is just over 30k. I have a huge ground to cover before calling it a marathon.

At first, it might seem like a self-doubt, but I don’t take it that way. These are simply the facts which are true. Accepting them makes me feel better! I knew it was not gonna be easy and there are always some setbacks waiting for you but it’s you who have to decide whether it is comfortable in staying down with your back pinned against the ground or to get up and give it all that’s left.

Out of these four days, I tested my body twice. Tuesday, I went for a short 3.5k to check if my body was capable of holding well. It was definitely not. I ran slow. I had to push. Signs that recovery is still on the way.

Thursday, I checked myself again. This time 7k. Easy and hard combined. And felt good. Yes I am still under the influence of cold so I need to wipe my nose every now and then but that is definitely not a problem for running.

Friday, I am taking yet another day of rest. Saturday, I will go for a short run to do a final check.

Leave a Reply

