First 26.2 Miler Countdown: 15 (Weekend LSD + Parkrun)

This is the second last weekend before the marathon hits and I wanted to make the most out of it. My planned long run was divided in two parts. First, to get to the nearby park and do the parkrun and second, to continue further along a planned route to run either 30k or 3 hours, whichever first.

It started smoothly at 7.30 in the morning and I reached Karkarook park a minute or two before the parkrun starts. Of course the plan was not to go for a all-out 5k as I had to save myself for the rest of the run but races are thrilling, aren’t they? The splits for my 5k were somewhere around 5:26, 4:28, 4:19, 4:27 and 3:59. I remember taking off my winter head-cap during the last part as it was soaked in sweat already.

19800624_1948659902086598_7226715244876028129_o
People gathering towards the start of parkrun.

The next part was not-so-much-group-friendly. It was in fact solo. I had planned to run along a certain route ending near my home. The whole thing was 29.5k including the parkrun but you always end up a little more if you’re taking trails rather than the roads. I was, for most part, running along the ocean and the beautiful view it offered. Let me show you!

20170708_090701_HDR
Running along the bay trail
20170708_100818_HDR
All that you can ask for.

The run wasn’t easy. But it wasn’t very hard either. There were a couple of low-points along the road (not the road-road), and I attended to them and continued. Towards the end, it started drizzling for which I was unprepared. I wasn’t having either a raincoat or a windcheater. But there was no option, so I pulled on my hood and continued. The rain stopped after a while and not too long after, my watch notified me of the completion of the 30k mark and I stopped a minute after that.

I am not sure if I can, but I would like to do a similar distance (or a bit more) the next week. I want to make it at least 35. But that is for the upcoming time to decide.

2 thoughts on “First 26.2 Miler Countdown: 15 (Weekend LSD + Parkrun)

    • tanmayagrawal7 July 11, 2017 / 11:37 AM

      Not exactly. I’m positive about it now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

