First 26.2 Miler Countdown: 53

Running is a beautiful addiction. Once it’s over you, it’s hard to get rid of it. That is what precisely happened with me this Wednesday. While I was busy enjoying the comforting luxury of my recovery phase, a pressure was building within me without myself being aware of it. I had not headed out the doors in the last two days (except an early morning bike ride on Monday) without doing anything else but run. And it got the better of me by the afternoon. I had the dinner early, reached back home and did what I wanted to do, what I was craving to do.

Keeping my eye on today is about all I’m capable of.

And today, I think I’ll go for a run.

With three layers of clothing and headphones on, I went on to continue my ritual. I ran two loops around my block, that’s around 7k. I kept it easy, partly because I was still a bit sore, mostly because I had dinner just two hours before and I didn’t want to be a vomiting show on the road. At the end, I felt better, relieved and strong. I walked to the nearby park to finish my day with some squats, push-ups, stretches and pull-ups.

Leave a Reply

