First 26.2 Miler Countdown: 55

Now this is the day after the half-marathon. The body is tired, sore but happy. To keep myself active, I went for a ride early in the morning.  A sore body is a good excuse to relax and go back to the ugly old schedule but how you recover is an important aspect of the recovery phase. I don’t start training myself again immediately after a race like such. Instead, I give my body sufficient time to cope itself up against the brutal pounding it had gone through. The body would generally tell you but it’s always a good idea to keep the blood circulating around to help in the recovery. That’s why other exercises such as cyclic, walking, hiking and swimming would help.

Recovery is more than just sitting on the couch.

Later in the evening, I went for a massage to ease up the tension in my legs. I know it sounds like a royalty but I got some very cheap offers from Groupon so why not give it a shot! I felt so much better after the massage that I walked all the way from the centre to my home. It was a decent 5k walk. I can’t remember when I last walked for a continuous 5k. On my way, I listened to the Runner’s World podcast about the sub-2 hour Marathon attempt (because I can go on and on about Eliud Kipchoge and what a wonderful gem of an athlete he is).

Leave a Reply

