My first encounter with Chinese counting

I first came to Taiwan in 2013. During those two months, I didn’t care to learn any Chinese(bad decision) and all that I could learn during that time was “Ni Hao” and “Xie Xie”. At this moment, I can proudly say that I can at least ask someone their name, their liking and disliking. To sum up, I can have a basic conversation with a Chinese person in Chinese. And I feel happy about it.

This semester, I am taking a badminton class in which all students warm up before the class starts. While any warm-up exercise, our student leader counts “yi, er, san, si, wu, liu, qi, ba” and this goes on like that for a while. One fine day, while we were warming up, I suddenly got a flashback of my school days. In my school, I used to learn a little bit of Karate once a week. While we used to practice, our instructor used to make us practice the kicks and punches using the same counting. Then I realized that I had been given a little flavor of Chinese language even before coming to Taiwan. I was just not that aware of this thing at that moment.

I felt sharing about it because these small moments make a link in your life. Ten years ago, I listened to Chinese counting while learning Karate and now, I am in a Chinese speaking country. Could this be just a coincidence or may be not?

Leave a Reply

