Scientheist

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about the concept of god and reading and watching many things about science. According to what I perceive, almost all the facts about this world can be explained by science. Be it the natural calamities or the beginning of this universe, everything can be explained logically. While god on the other hand, is a belief and faith of many people. The words I am yet to say are my point of view and in no way, I mean to impose anything on anyone. My concept of god is a bit strange from usual. I do not believe now that any materialistic god exists because I have not seen it, I have not known anyone who has been to heaven or hell and more importantly, I have not felt it.

What I believe in is an inner power within ourselves, may be that is something which I can term as god in my perspective. Generally we bow our heads before god to ask for something. In a similar way, we can ask our inner being to give us the strength and the motivation to claim our targets.

Scientheist is just a term for scientific atheist. I believe in science and logic. I can not blindly believe in something which I can not prove. We are just tiny creatures, lucky enough to get lives within us. We are made from same stuff as that of a star, and when a star can die, why can not we? What is so special about us that we will get a life again? When a universe possibly can be given birth from a big bang i.e nothing, why can’t our life just come to an end, again nothing? I believe that there is no god behind our existence and it just a mere coincidence that life flowered here on Earth. As long as the conditions on Earth are good enough for us to survive, our race will do so. And when the time has to come, it will come, like it did for the mighty dinosaurs. 

6 thoughts on “Scientheist

  1. kimboxin February 9, 2015 / 9:54 AM

    I ponder this topic all of the time. I even wrote a post about it, called “Science, Religion and Ghosts” but I was too worried about backlash to post it! I love the idea of living on like a star (not actually being a star) but we are made up of energy, so that energy has to go somewhere. You know…just like a dead star that still glows. I’ve deviated from your point a bit, but I appreciate your perspective! Scientheist…I like it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • tanmayagrawal7 February 9, 2015 / 2:22 PM

      Thank you for the appreciation. I tried to look at your blog to find the post you have just mentioned, but I could not locate it. If you still have it on your blog, please let me know, I would love to give it a read 🙂
      About living on like a star and where the energy goes? I guess if we could know what happens after death, the answer lies within 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • kimboxin February 11, 2015 / 11:27 AM

        That post is still in my drafts. Living on like a star sounds dreamy but I’m really okay with just fading in to black as well. I am at peace with not having all of the answers, and I don’t feel the need to subscribe to a doctrine that claims to have the answers. Live and let live. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • tanmayagrawal7 February 11, 2015 / 11:38 AM

        Right. Let me tell you a secret of mine. I fear death 🙂 Though I know it’s a definite thing but I really want to live for longer and longer. So, till the death, I am counting on moments rather than on seconds 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • kimboxin February 11, 2015 / 12:19 PM

        I fear dying but not death itself. Does that make sense?

        Liked by 1 person

      • tanmayagrawal7 February 11, 2015 / 1:32 PM

        We feel the same way 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

